School Finder

University of Scranton

Initially known as St. Thomas College, the University of Scranton is named after the city in northeastern Pennsylvania where it is located. It is a private co-educational Jesuit and Catholic university that was founded in 1888 by the first Bishop of Scranton, Most Reverend William O’Hara. It attained university status in 1938, and today it is operated by the Scranton Jesuit Community.

At the University of Scranton’s 58-acre hillside campus are 287 academic staff and about 5,700 students. The university offers 61 undergraduate degree programs, 25 master’s degree programs, a doctorate program in physical therapy and 45 minors. The programs are offered through its four schools and colleges: the College of Arts & Sciences, Kania School of Management, Panuska College of Professional Studies, and College of Graduate and Continuing Education.

The University of Scranton offers two types of online programs. The Master of Science in Human Resources is the more popular choice. It consists of 13 courses, which add up to a total of 39 semester credits. The other online program is the Master of Business Administration, which is split into five concentrations: General Management, Enterprise Resource Planning, Healthcare Management, International Business and Operations Management.

For 11 consecutive years, the Princeton Review has named the University of Scranton as one of the country’s “377 Best Colleges.” It is also consistently on the “America’s Best Colleges” list by U.S. News and World Report as among the top 10 master’s universities in the North. The Kania school in particular is ranked by the publication as among the country’s “Best Business Schools,” and the online MBA program is ranked 1st in for Student Engagement and Accreditation.

The University of Scranton is one of the member institutions of the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities. Its Kania School of Management is accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.